You are here: Managing content > Publishing and managing versions

Publishing and managing versions

EPiServer has sophisticated support for advanced management of content creation and publishing involving multiple editors. The “draft” concept is central, ensuring that work in progress will never be externally exposed until it is actively published. The publishing options you see depend on the content status and your access rights. Available actions, content status and notifications are clearly indicated in the status bar at the top.

Publishing involves steps from creating a draft to publishing the final version, as well as managing versions. The steps apply to different types of content such as pages, blocks and media, or products if you have EPiServer Commerce installed on your website.

Publishing actions

Creating drafts and autosaving

Whenever new content is created or existing content is edited, a draft version will be created. This will not be publicly available on the website until actively published. Changes to content properties will immediately be autosaved by the system.

Undoing and reverting to published

While editing, clicking the Undo option in the status bar allows you to undo changes to content that has been previously autosaved.

Previewing and comparing

You can preview content appearance using the Preview mode option in the top toolbar. You can also preview content by language, visitor group or display channel if these are used on your website. Refer to Previewing for more information.

You can also compare different content versions by using the Compare version option in the top toolbar. Refer to Comparing versions for more information.

Publishing

When done editing, click Publish? at the top and then Publish (or Publish Changes, if you are editing previously published content). The content will be immediately published and publicly available on the website, provided that no access restrictions applies. Click View on website to view the content as it appears on the website.

With the Projects gadget you can publish multiple content items at the same time, for instance pages and blocks as part of a campaign, see Publishing multiple content items in a project. Projects is currently available in a beta version that needs to be activated on the website by a developer. When activated, the Projects gadget can then be added to the edit view.

Setting ready to publish

If you do not have publishing access rights, or if you want your changes to be approved by someone else before publishing, use the Ready to Publish option to mark the content as ready for approval and publishing. Withdraw and Edit allows you to take back content for further editing after sent for approval.

Approving and publishing

If you have publishing access rights, you can approve and publish changes for content with the status “Ready to publish”. You can also decide to reject the changes, in which case the content version status will be set to “Rejected”. Content status and related tasks can be monitored under Tasks in edit view.

Scheduling for later publishing

If you have publishing access rights, you can schedule the publishing to occur at a later occasion. Select the Schedule for Publish option, and set the date and time when you want the content (new or updated) to be published. This applies to both newly created content, as well as changes to existing content.

Removing scheduling and creating new drafts

Content that is scheduled for publishing, will be locked for editing. Select the Remove Scheduling and Edit option if you wish to interrupt the scheduled publishing and continue editing the selected version.

Selecting New Draft from Here will create a new draft, based on the scheduled version, which will still be published at the scheduled time. You can continue working on the new draft, and apply publishing actions for this as desired. An advanced scenario would be to apply multiple publishing occasions for different versions of a campaign page, having them replace each other in a desired order.

Managing versions

Viewing versions

Content can have the following status in the version list:

Click the column headers to sort the version list according to language, status and more.

The number of stored content versions can be defined in the administration view, the default setting is 20.

Setting the primary draft

The primary draft will be the draft presented in edit view, when accessing the content. Multiple drafts may exist, by default the latest saved edited version will be the primary draft. Use the Set as Primary Draft option in the version list to make another draft the primary one.

Editing and deleting versions

The content version selected in the version list will be loaded into the editing area, from where you can edit the content or perform other available publishing actions. Select the Delete Version option to delete a version.

The version with status “Published” cannot be deleted, to do this another version needs to be published first. Deleting content versions cannot be undone. The possibility to delete versions can be disabled in the administration view.

Managing language versions

If the selected content exists in multiple languages, all language versions will be displayed with a language code. To filter versions for a desired language, select Show Content in [language] Only in the version list.

Republishing a version

To republish a previously published version, select the desired version and select Republish from the publishing options. When you republish content, for traceability reasons a new version with a new timestamp will be created, even if no actual changes have been made.

Working with shared content

Mark as being edited

As soon as someone starts editing content, it will be marked as “currently being edited” notifying other editors in order to avoid version conflicts. It is still possible for another editor to select the Edit Anyway option, and continue working with the draft.

Permanently mark as being edited

The “currently being edited” markup setting will be automatically cleared after some time. To keep this setting, you have an option to set a “permanently being edited” markup. This is done under Tools in the All Properties editing view by selecting Permanently Mark as Being Edited. This setting will remain until manually disabled (toggle the setting to disable).

Archiving of expired content

Setting a stop date to manage expired content is useful for instance for news pages in a listing where you want to remove old news from the listing, but still keep them on the website. EPiServer has a built-in archiving feature where content with a set stop publish time will automatically be moved to a defined archive branch when the time has passed.

Setting a stop publish time is done from under Tools in the All Properties editing view by selecting Manage Expiration and Archiving. Select Now if you want stop publish to apply immediately. If the content is a page, select the page branch where you want to move the expired page.

Managing content publishing

Projects

 


EPiServer User Guide update 14-1 | Released: 2014-10-29 | Copyright © EPiServer AB | Send feedback to us