CMS for editors > Managing content > Projects > Working with projects

Working with projects

Creating a project and adding content

New projects are created from the context menu on the project bar.

When the project has been created, it is automatically set as the active project which means that all editing changes you do (adding new content items, updating existing content, uploading an image and so on) are automatically associated with the project.

A specific content version can only be part of one project. If you try to add the same version to another project, you are prompted to create a new draft. If you choose to create a new draft, the new version is then added to the project.

Editing content in projects

You will see a notification if the version you are working on is associated with the active project.

Content not associated with the active project but with another project is locked for editing. However, even if that version is locked for editing, you can still create a new draft with the New Draft from Here button in the yellow toolbar. That draft is associated with the active project, or to no project at all if None (use primary drafts) is selected.

If you want to make a change that should not be associated with the active project, you either have to select None (use primary drafts) or another project from the project bar. When None (use primary drafts) is selected in the project bar, you can create drafts, publish content and so on, as long as the content version is not associated with a project.

Content items that are part of a project remain so even after they are published.

Uploading media to projects

If you upload media while a project is active, it automatically associated with the active project.

Media is never auto-published when you upload it to a project, not even if your system is configured for auto publishing of media (see the Auto publish media on upload setting in System settings). Media associated with a project need to be published like any other content item.

Previewing project content

The preview option in the top menu lets you browse through the website as if the project were published. If you click the preview button, you preview the active project; to preview another project, change the project in the project bar.

Collaborating on projects

You can add comments on project items in the project overview and, for example, ask other editors to review an item. This feature is described in Working with comments.

Publishing projects

From the project overview, you can multi-publish items that are set to status Ready to Publish. Items can be set to Ready to Publish either from the publishing menu while editing an item, from the context menu in project overview or from the Project Items navigation pane. You can select multiple items and set them to Ready to Publish, both from the overview and the navigation pane.

When items are ready for publishing, they can be published from Options, if you have publishing access rights. You can either publish directly or schedule the project to be published later.

If the items in a project have been scheduled for publishing and you add new items to the project, the new content is not scheduled for publishing automatically. New content needs to be specifically set to scheduled time of publishing if you want it to be published at the same time as the other items in the project.

If you need to edit content that is scheduled, select Remove Scheduling and Edit, edit the content and reschedule.

You can continue working with a project after it has been published.

Removing content and deleting projects

Remove a content item from a project by selecting the item either in the project overview or from the project items navigation pane and then selecting Remove from Project from the item's context menu. Removing a content item from a project means that it is no longer associated with the project but it is not deleted from the website.

Delete a project by selecting the project in the project bar and then selecting Delete Project from the context menu. Associated content items are not deleted but are no longer associated with a project. Deleted projects can not be recovered. When deleting a project with items scheduled for publishing, you can either keep or remove the scheduling for each item.

back to top




Episerver User Guide update 16-2 | Released: 2016-03-31 | © Episerver 2016 | Send feedback to us