This topic is intended for administrators and developers with administration access rights in Episerver.
Editors can create content in a particular language after you add and activate the language, and set an access level for a language. This prevents unauthorized editors from creating or editing pages in that language.
Go to the Config tab > Manage Website Languages. The installed website languages appear. You can see which languages are enabled for active editing in edit view, and the order in which languages are available. You can adjust the order of the languages using the arrows to the left of the language. To change a language's settings, click its name.
- On the Config tab, select Manage Website Languages.
- Click a language to edit its settings, or click Add Language to add a new language. A list of available language codes appears. Select a language code by clicking the name.
- In Name, enter a name for that language to be shown in the edit view. The field contains the name of the language encoding, but you can change this if you want.
- Select Enabled if you want the language to be active for editing in edit view. This option also affects whether the language is available to website visitors. A disabled language is not visible in the edit view. Existing content in that language is still accessible, but it cannot be edited.
- In the Template icon field, enter the path to an icon that symbolizes the language. Several flags are stored in the C:\Program Files\Episerver\CMS\<release>\Application\App_Themes\Default\Images folder. If you want to make your own icons, they should be 15x15 pixels so they fit properly in the edit view.
- In the Web address prefix field, you can provide a specific prefix to show the content of the relevant language. If you do not provide a prefix, the language code is used, such as www.company.com/nl.
- Use Access level to define which editor groups should have access to create and edit content in this language (see below). When you add a language, it is available for the Everyone group by default. Only users with access rights for a language have it available on the Sites tab, and can create and edit content in that language.
An editor's create and edit access rights to content and language determine which actions the editor can perform on the content. This means that an editor must have edit access for a specific language and a specific item to edit the content in that language.
When a language has Everyone as access rights, access rights for an item apply to all languages. This also means that an editor with delete access rights for content can delete an entire node with content in all languages, including content in languages to which the editor does not have access.
- Click Save.
If you remove the Everyone group in a certain language, it may cause some editors to lose their access rights to create and edit content in that language.
You should remove a language from the website by opening the language for editing, and clear the Enabled option.