This topic is intended for administrators and developers with administration access rights in Episerver.
System settings let you define certain settings for the Episerver CMS installation, for instance, to activate globalization, change the error handling, and configure version management of content.
|Controls the appearance of the rich-text editor. This can be the same or similar CSS file as the site uses for styling content so that the editors get the same appearance as the site when editing content. You also can set other CSS files for different editors on the website. This is a dynamic property that you can change in the edit view.|
|Maximum number of versions||Specify the number of previously-published versions of content items (for example, pages or blocks) that are stored. The currently-published version and draft versions are not counted.
For example, if you enter 3, Episerver CMS stores three previously-published versions. If that is the case for a content item and you publish a new version, the oldest version is removed.
Default value is 20 versions.
This field is ignored if the Unlimited versions or Disable deletion of content versions box is selected.
|Unlimited versions||Stores an unlimited number of versions of content items (such as pages or blocks). This option may result in a large version list, which can be difficult to use unless you manually delete unwanted versions.
If you check this, the value in the Maximum number of versions field is ignored.
|Auto publish media on upload||
Select to automatically publish and index media when uploaded to the website.
Note: If a user uploads media but does not have publishing rights in the folder to which the media is uploaded, then the uploaded documents are not published (images, for instance, are not displayed when used in content). Ensure that editors who upload media also have the proper access rights set in the media folder structure.
Also note that if this check box is selected and a user (with the proper access rights) uploads media, it is published and indexed immediately, so can be found by search engines, even if no published page contains links to the media.
If The projects feature is enabled in your system, this setting is ignored. Uploaded media that is associated with a project is not published until it is manually published or published via scheduling, even if this setting is turned on.