A project lets you manage the publishing process for multiple related content items. For example, you can add a landing page, blocks, pages and products (if you have Commerce installed) to a project and publish them, manually or scheduled, at the same time. Projects support management of content in different language versions, so you can manage translation of content items in projects.
In Episerver, there are two ways to work with projects.
- Add the projects gadget to your user interface.
- Use the projects feature if it is enabled for the entire site. Enabling and disabling of the projects feature is done in code by a developer.
The following table shows a comparison of the two methods:
|Projects gadget||Projects feature|
|Accessible to users who add the gadget.||Accessible only if it is enabled for the entire site.|
|Added to your own user interface; does not affect other users.||Enabled or disabled for the entire site and affects all users.|
|You need to add content manually to a project.||Content is automatically added if a project is active.|
|Other editors (not using the Projects gadget) can update content associated with a project.||
Content associated with a project can only be updated within the context of the project. (If content is associated to a project, an editor who wants to edit that content needs to have that project active or create a new draft).
|When the project is published, the project is obsolete and can no longer be used.||You can continue working with a project even after some or all items are published.|
|All project items must be set to Ready to publish before the project is published.||You can publish multiple items that are set to Ready to publish and leave items that are not ready for a later time.|
|There are no collaboration features.||You can collaborate on projects by adding comments to projects and items.|